Piloncillo Cookies with Mexican Chocolate ~ Galletas de Piloncillo con Chocolate Mexicano

Piloncillo Cookies with Mexican Chocolate (2)When I lived in Mexico, I quickly learned that I did not have access to many of the ingredients I grew up using. I had trouble finding foods like cheddar cheese, barbecue sauce, chocolate chips, and brown sugar. I wanted to be able to share many of the American foods that I knew so well, but without the right ingredients, I couldn’t make them for my Mexican friends and neighbors.

Piloncillo Cookies with Mexican Chocolate (7)So, I began to search for substitutes. One of the very first recipes that I “Mexicanized” was my chocolate chip cookies. Every now and then, I would stumble across a bag of chocolate chips at a Superama, but for the most part I had to break up Carlos V chocolate bars. As far as the brown sugar went, my first thought was to chop up piloncillo. I remember that afternoon in my Cuernavaca kitchen pondering how to crush that cone of piloncillo. My knife wasn’t sharp enough to chop away at it, and I didn’t dare kill my only blender, so I used a wooden kitchen hammer. I put the piloncillo in a plastic bag and begin to hit it with the hammer. I was able to break up the piloncillo, but I ended up with little pebbles of it scattered all over the kitchen. Oops!

In any event, those piloncillo chocolate chip cookies turned out to me a hit. I remember taking them along with some puppy chow to a Mexican Independence Day party at my neighbors’ house. What I loved so much about them was that the piloncillo didn’t totally dissolve in the batter, so the final cookie had these little pockets of sweetness.
Piloncillo Cookies with Mexican Chocolate (4)Recently, I decided to recreate my Mexicanized chocolate chip cookies, and this time I added some Taza stone-ground Mexican chocolate for added texture and depth. Aren’t they pretty?

My knife was also sharp enough to be able to chop the piloncillo this time, but I still enjoyed how the cookies had those bursts of caramely sweetness.

If you are looking to put a Mexican twist on the classic chocolate chip cookie recipe, give these a try!

GALLETAS DE PILONCILLO CON CHOCOLATE MEXICANO

Click here for printable recipe.  

Cookie Dough

1 stick unsalted butter, melted

1 cup bread flour (If you don’t have bread flour, all-purpose flour would be fine.)

½ tsp salt

½ tsp baking soda

2 TBSP granulated sugar

1 cup chopped piloncillo sugar*

1 egg

1 TBSP milk

1 vanilla extract

2 cup chopped Mexican chocolate (I recommend Taza Chocolate or Carlos V bars.)

→Heat the oven to 375°F. Melt the butter in a heavy-bottom medium saucepan over low heat.

→Sift together the flour, salt, and baking soda. Set aside.

→Pour the melted butter in a mixing bowl and add sugars. Cream the butter and sugars on medium speed until well combined. The butter may puddle slightly.

→Add the egg, milk, and vanilla and mix thoroughly until well combined. Slowly incorporate the flour mixture. When combined, stir in chopped chocolate.

→Chill the dough for about 15 minutes, the scoop onto parchment-lined baking sheets. Bake for 14 minutes. Cool completely and store in an airtight container.

Makes 14 cookies

NOTES:

  • You could substitute dark brown sugar for the piloncillo, but it won’t give you the same textural effect.
  • I love this recipe because you don’t have to let the butter soften.
4 thoughts on “Piloncillo Cookies with Mexican Chocolate ~ Galletas de Piloncillo con Chocolate Mexicano

    • Nicole says:

      Hi Nick!
      Thank you so much 🙂 The chocolate chip cookie really is a versatile dessert, and I feel like you could put so many cultural spins on it. I really do enjoy this “accident” that I created. The dough has such a deep caramel flavor from the piloncillo. Saludos!

  1. Lola's Cocina says:

    These look and sound so good! I’m going to make them with my sister Elise when she comes to visit me next week. She and I ran in to the same problem when looking for brown sugar to make chocolate chip cookies in Mexico, but we never considered using piloncillo!

    Something else we can never find in Mexico: pickles. When my cousins come visit, they love them!

    • Nicole says:

      Oh, that’s wonderful! Please let me know how you like them. I eventually found “azúcar mascabado,” a close brown sugar substitute, but honestly I enjoy the rich flavor of the piloncillo. You are so right! I never found pickles in Mexico either. Roberto hates them. Isn’t that funny?!

Leave a Reply

