Agua de Mango con Limón y Miel ~ Mango Water with Lime and Honey

Agua de Mango (H2)If you talk to me for only five minutes, you will quickly realize two things. One. I love sunshine. Two. I really dislike cold weather. So, it is no surprise that in the dead of winter I think about sunshine ALL-THE-TIME, and I dream about every possible way that I can make my days warmer until summer is finally here. I can’t think of a better way to brighten these gray days than drinking sunshine in a glass.

Agua de Mango (V3)Because that’s what this drink is. I don’t think I’ve ever met a happier fruit than the mango. Every time I’m at the grocery store, I can hear the mangoes whispering to me, “Pick me up. You could use a little bit of me right now,” and the truth is, when I do place those succulent fruits in my cart, I’m never disappointed.

I eat them plain, and let the juice run down my hands, and yes, I feel like I’m eating summer when I do.

If you follow me on Instagram, you probably know about my recent obsession with the book Hartwood. I can’t get enough of the layers and layers of flavor that they incorporate in all of their dishes. When I saw a recipe for a mango limeade in their book, I knew I had to give it a try.

Agua de Mango (V2)This is my version of the “mangonada.” It is bright with a touch of citrus to awaken the senses and a soft undertone of honey to smooth everything out. I promise you will feel like you are sipping down sunshine, and sooner than we know it, summer will be at our door again.

AGua de mango con limón y miel

Click here for printable recipe.  

Mango Water with Lime and Honey (Makes about 2 cups)

1 mango* or 1 cup of frozen mango (I like this or this for frozen varieties.)

1-1.5 cups water

1.5 TBSP honey*

Zest of one lime

2 limes

→Remove the mango from the seed and cut it into chunks. If you are unsure of how to cut a mango, you can watch this video.

→Place the mango chunks, 1 cup of water, honey, and lime zest in the blender. Using a lime squeezer, squeeze the juice of the two limes into the blender as well.

→Blend on high speed for 1-2 minutes or until the honey is completely incorporated. If the drink is too thick, you can add more water. The consistency should not be thick like a milkshake. Rather, it should be thinner like milk.

→Serve over ice and garnish with a lime and lime zest.

NOTES:

  • There are two types of mangoes commonly sold at grocery stores in the U.S. Their Spanish names are mango de paraíso and mango de manila, but in English they can be listed under the names Hayden and Manila/Champagne/Ataulfo. Hayden mangoes are larger, have a greenish red color and are stringier in texture. Manila mangoes are smaller, golden yellow, and have a buttery texture. I am a fan of the Manila mango for its smoother texture, but you may want to use two in this recipe depending on the size. You be the judge. The measurements above are approximations, and this recipe can be adjusted to meet your tastes.
  • Opt for raw honey when you can. I am lucky because we own a beehive, and I have access to a fantastic source of raw honey. However, after eating locally raised raw honey, I never want to go back to the store-bought stuff. There is a huge flavor difference, not to mention raw honey has so many more benefits.

Inspired by the flavors of Hartwood Restaurant in Tulum

4 thoughts on “Agua de Mango con Limón y Miel ~ Mango Water with Lime and Honey

  1. Lola's Cocina says:

    I can’t wait until it’s mango season again. This drink sounds so delicious — it reminds me of the fruit combinations I found in Colombia. I would have never thought to add lime to other fruit juices until I tasted the ones there. And I agree, I’ve never tasted honey as flavorful as the one you sent me! I hope your bees produce a lot of honey this year.:)

Leave a Reply

