Galletas de Lucha Libre

Galletas de Lucha Libre #1-2

Have you ever seen the Mexican form of studio wrestling called lucha libre that is trademarked by many colorful masks and cool costumes? Well, if you haven’t it’s actually a lot of fun and I would highly recommend it.

I didn’t know anything about the sport before living in Mexico, but when I arrived to Mexico City I happened to meet this guy who LOVED it. Haha, that guy eventually became my boyfriend, Roberto, and I came to learn all about lucha libre. I will admit that at first I thought the sport was kind of ridiculous . I mean what’s the point of watching a bunch of buff-looking guys bouncing back and forth on ropes? However, I came to have a different opinion of lucha libre after attending several matches when I lived in Mexico City.

I realized that the luchadores (wrestlers) are actually like trained gymnasts. Unlike their American counterparts, the Mexican guys are like stunt men. They do flips, spins, leaps, and all kinds of crazy moves with their legs. It is seriously amazing to watch. The Mexican luchadores are not big and bulky, but rather agile and fit. If you ever have the opportunity to go to a lucha libre match, I would totally recommend it.

Galletas de Lucha Libre #2-2

Needless to say, I have really come to love lucha libre, and I get super excited when I find anything related to it. Místico (who was also Sin Cara  and is now Myzteziz) is by far my favorite luchador, and I have a pink T-shirt with an outline of his mask on it.

Every year, I take a few days to teach my 5th grade Spanish students about lucha libre. We talk about the history of the sport, the reason for the masks, and its popularity and importance in Mexico.

I recently bought these awesome luchador key toppers for my house keys. I just couldn’t resist!

And, when I saw these “Muncha Libre” cookie cutters made by Fred and Friends, you can imagine that I had to order them.

Galletas de Lucha Libre #4-2

These cookies were so much fun to make. There are four mask designs, and you can use any variety of colors to decorate them. I used a simple sugar cookie recipe for the base and iced them with a powdered sugar glaze. Then, I painted them using food coloring.

You might want to decorate them using royal icing or maybe even a colored egg wash before you bake them. You could even make these cookies using the same dough used to make puerquitos cookies. You wouldn’t even have to decorate them.

I love how these cookie cutters open up so many possibilities! If you aren’t interested in the lucha libre design, you might like these Day of the Dead ones better. They are definitely on my wish list 🙂

Galletas de Lucha Libre

Click here for printable recipe.  

Mexican Wrestler Cookies (Makes about 25-28 cookies)

1/3 cup shortening (Crisco)

6 TBSP unsalted butter (3/4 stick), softened

1 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

→In the bowl of an electric mixer, add shortening, butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Mix thoroughly, about 2 minutes. Add flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix until combined. Cover the dough and chill for one hour in the refrigerator.

→Heat the oven to 400°F.

→Lightly flour work surface and grab a handful of dough. Roll out with a floured rolling pin or press out dough with floured hands until it is about ¼” thick.

→Dip the lucha libre cookie cutter into flour and cut out the face outline. Transfer the cutout to a parchment-lined baking sheet. Then, use the lucha libre face stamp and stamp the face pattern (once the cookie is already on the baking sheet). You can place the outline around the already cutout cookie while you stamp it so that the cookie doesn’t lose its shape.

→Bake for 8 minutes or until light brown. Remove cookies from baking sheet and place on wire racks to cool completely.

Icing (Makes enough to ice about 30 cookies)

2 ¼ cups powdered sugar (9 oz.)

2 TBSP light corn syrup (1 3/8 oz.)

2TBSP + milk (1 ¼ oz.)

→In a small bowl, whisk together the powdered sugar, corn syrup, and milk. The coating should be the consistency of thick, cold honey. Remember: start with a glaze that is thicker than you think it should be; then add milk by the teaspoonful to adjust its consistency.

→Spread on cooled cookies.

→Once the icing is completely dry (this may take 8-24 hours), paint with food coloring. Use fine-tipped brushes. (This may take 3-4 hours depending on how detailed you like to get.)

NOTES:

  • I like the cookies to be a little bit thicker and fluffy. So, don’t roll the dough too thin.
  • I noticed that I had to add a little bit more milk than normal to the icing because I didn’t want to lose the face design on the cookie. When I iced the cookies, I put a base layer of icing and then scraped it smooth until I could see the design.
  • I used regular liquid food coloring bought from the grocery store. I love the McCormick neon colors. However, you could also mix water with gel food coloring to achieve the same result.
  • I thought about several other ways to detail these cookies. You could paint the pre-stamped cookies with a colored egg wash before baking them. You could also bake the cutouts without the face design and then stamp and paint fondant. You could even create cookies using different colored dough. The possibilities are endless.

Recipe Source: Cookie recipe courtesy of my wonderful Mom; Icing recipe adapted from King Arthur Flour Cookie book

Leave a Reply

