Mondays in Méxicos: Pemoles and Chilaquiles

Pemoles

Pemoles

No matter where you go, there’s nothing like a good home-cooked meal. Above you can see some homemade pemoles. They are lightly sweetened cookies that contain both corn flour and coffee. They are usually formed into a ring shape and are found in the Huasteca region of México (Tamaulipas, Veracruz, San Luis Potosí). I love them because they remind me of the beach. Roberto and I always stop to buy some when we go to Tecolutla.

Chilaquiles, frijoles, y queso fresco

Chilaquiles, frijoles, y queso fresco

As I previously mentioned, chilaquiles are one of my favorite “anytime” foods. I think they are even more scrumptious when accompanied by freshly cooked black beans and queso fresco. I love traveling to Veracruz because they always serve their dishes with a side of black beans. Mmmm…my favorite. Have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

