Classic Salsa Verde

Salsa Verde #1

I must confess that I’m actually a salsa roja girl. I like it’s versatility. It can be light and fresh (think pico de gallo), bold and flavorful (think salsa de chipotle) or multifaceted (think salsa de chile guajillo). But, here I am with a green salsa recipe for you, and I will admit that I’m liking it…A LOT.

Salsa Verde #2

My mom makes some pretty delicious green enchiladas filled with chicken and zucchini. The only problem is that she was using a jarred green salsa that was just too darn salty. So, I said to her one day, “Mom, let me just make you some green salsa. It will only take me a few minutes, and I’m sure the flavor will be infinitely better.” And, that’s how it went and let me tell you, those enchiladas verdes were beautiful. You could taste every layer of flavor.

Salsa Verde #3

So, now the question is, “Am I a converted salsa verde fan?” Well, not quite. Salsa roja will always win the love of my taste buds. But, let me tell you, there is definite a space for this salsa verde on my menu anytime. It’s also helping to brighten these dull, endless months of winter. It’s a happy salsa for sure.

So, are you a salsa roja or salsa verde person?

Salsa Verde

Click here for printable recipe.  

Green salsa (Makes about 2 cups)

6 tomates verdes (called tomatillos in the U.S.)

3 serrano chile peppers

1 clove garlic

1-2 TBSP chopped white onion

1 tsp salt to taste

5-7 cilantro leaves (like the one pictured above)

→Remove the husks of the tomates verdes and wash the tomatoes thoroughly to remove the sticky residue. Place them in a medium-sized pot. Rinse the serranos and cut off the stems. Place them in the pot with the tomates verdes. Remove the papery shell from one clove of garlic and place it in the blender with the tomates and serranos. Fill the pot until the tomates are covered with water.

→Bring the tomates, serranos, and garlic to a boil over medium heat. Let them boil for 12-15 minutes until the tomates are tender.

→Using a pair of tongs, remove the tomates, serranos, and garlic from the water and place them in the blender. Add the chopped onion and the salt. Begin by blending on low and increase the speed once the mixture comes together. Blend until smooth (about 30 seconds).

→Stop the blender and add the cilantro. Gently pulse to incorporate the cilantro. (Don’t overmix. You still want to see pieces of the cilantro in the salsa.)

→Sample to make sure the amount of salt is right. Allow to cool before storing in a container in the refrigerator.

NOTES:

  • Even though tomates verdes means green tomatoes, these should not be confused with green, unripe tomatoes.
  • In the U.S., you should look for tomatillos (tomates verdes), which look like green tomatoes with a papery husk. They will be about the size of a small to medium tangerine.

Recipe Source: Adapted from the Mexico in My Kitchen blog

Leave a Reply

